At Simon Balle School we believe that students should be given a wide range of opportunities to develop and practise leadership skills in preparation for life beyond school.  Many student leadership activities will focus on improving the quality of learning and teaching in the classroom and supporting the school and wider community as we strive to be even better.

Many of our students are keen to put something back into their school and as a result we have developed a Senior Student Leadership Team that offers a range of opportunities and responsibilities.




Aims of Student Leadership:

  • To empower students to work in partnership with staff and each other towards shared goals.
  • To provide opportunities for students to develop leadership skills through a variety of roles which impact positively on learning, teaching and well-being for students at Simon Balle School.

Student voice and student leadership are an integral part in developing our vision of the Simon Balle Student:

  • Our students will leave us after having had a fantastic educational experience. They will have achieved the highest possible grades that they can and thus be able to go out into our globally competitive world with the skills, attributes and behaviours equipped for 21st century living.
  • Simon Balle students will be self-motivated to achieve their very best, be resourceful and resilient, able to accept others for who they are. Our students will be positive people, creative in their thinking, respectful and responsible in their actions. 

They also help embed the key values we promote:

  • Honesty
  • Openness
  • Social responsibility
  • Hard work and commitment


Our full list of Senior Student leaders is shown below:

Head Boy – Harry Ingram

Head Girl – Molly Robinson

Deputies – Louise Reilly, Oak H-Hill, Alex Willis & Oliver Murphy


The SSLT members below will chair the following committees:


Teaching, Learning and Assessment Committee – Sarah Kenway / Lily Jones

Environment for Learning/Eco Committee – Rees Clarke / Liz Pickup

Behaviour, Safety and Wellbeing Committee – Elspeth Grace / Ben Spragg

Student/Pastoral Committee – Will Spurway / Rosa Noxon

Primary Phase Committee – Clara Weller / Philippa Shattock