In order to deliver  holistic education, which puts great emphasis upon personal growth and development, we follow a year group structure. Each cohort is overseen by a Head of Year, who follow the year group as they move towards the senior sections of the school. We believe that this is important as the HoY knows each child individually and can plan accurately for both their academic and personal development progress. Also, parents really appreciate the fact that they get to work with a key individual within the school management structure.

The tutor group is therefore important. The form tutor also follows the child through. They work very closely with their form and there are planned activities each day during period 5 including discussions about news, PHSEE (personal, health, social, economic education lessons), reading opportunities and monitoring progress.

Below is a list of all the form groups for 2018-19:

Larch Centre (Primary Phase)

Primary Phase Leader - Ruth Oakenfull oakenfullr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Hedgehogs Class YR – Jess Emery emeryj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Squirrels Class YR – Louise Hudson hudsonl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Badgers Class Y1 – Mary Williams williamsm@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Rabbits Class Y1 – Sophie Pearce pearces@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Deers Class Y2 – Marie-Claire Riddle riddlem@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Foxes Class Y2 – Rachel Southall southallr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk 

Wrens Class Y3 – Emma Summerfield summerfielde@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Robbins Class Y3 – Tayla Ridley ridleyt@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Year 7 (Year Leader - Emily Robinson) robinsone@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7A - Bunyami Gunduz gunduzb@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Vicky Davis davisv@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7B - Fiona Pinkerton  pinkertonf@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7L- David Brinicombe  brinicombed@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7M - Chris Townsend townsendc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7N - Katherine Whitby  whitbyk@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7R - Kirsty Mayo  mayok@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Year 8 (Year Leader - Jo Green) greenj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8A - Ryan Norcross  norcrossr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8B - Colin Keast  keastc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8L - Elise Nwahba  nwahbae@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Jane Johnston johnstonj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8M - Jack Andrews  andrewsj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8N - Laura Armani  armanil@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Lisa Slade sladel@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8R - David Kelleway  kellewayd@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Year 9 (Year Leader - Graham Davies) daviesg@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9A -  Will Poley  poleyw@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9B - Helen Rhodes   rhodesh@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Amelia Fuente fuentea@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9L - Rebecca Fish  fishr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9M - Charlotte Stuart  stuartc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk 

9N - Katie Ansell  ansellk@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9R - Daisy Coulbeck coulbeckd@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Year 10 (Year Leader - Lucy Owen) owenl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10A - Claire Young  youngc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk  

10B - David Ayres  ayresd@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Carolyn Kelleway kellewayc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10L - Kevin Belsey  belseyk@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10M - Janice Mayo  mayoj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Laura Cooke cookel@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10N - Daire Brennan brennand@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Katie Hill hillk@simonballer.herts.sch.uk

10R - Lauren Davison davisonl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Year 11 (Year Leader - Hannah Ahmet) ahmeth@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11A - Stephanie Corbett corbetts@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11B - Tom Joyce joycet@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11L - Nancy Iles  ilesn@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11M - Steve Preshous preshouss@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Sarah Pope popes@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11N - Amy Wootton woottona@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11R- Steve Mcgovern mcgoverns@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Jenny Mcgovern mcgovernj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Head of Sixth Form – Ed Coy  coye@simonballe.herts.sch.uk
 

Assistant Head of Sixth Form - Suzy Matuszak matuszaks@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Learning Centre Manager - Russell Ford fordr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Ashbourne a - Louise Lucas lucasl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Amanda Mccarthy mccarthya@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Ashbourne b - Chris Trueman  truemanc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Beane a - Gareth Jones jonesg@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Jackie Moss mossj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Beane b - Carolyn Selby selbyc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Lea a -  Katherine Elliott elliottk@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Andrea Robins robinsa@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Lea b - Charlotte Ayres ayresc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Jenny Townsend townsendj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Mimram a - Phil Whitby whitbyp@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Mimram b - Sophie Wren  wrens@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

New a - Charlie Webber  webberc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

New b - Fiona Johnston johnstonf@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Anna Palmer palmera@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Rib a - Jimmy Nicholson nicholsonj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Rib b - Helen Witty wittyh@simonballe.herts.sch.uk     Matt Allred allredm@simonballe.herts.sch.uk