Pastoral Structure

In order to deliver  holistic education, which puts great emphasis upon personal growth and development, we follow a year group structure. Each cohort is overseen by a Head of Year, who follow the year group as they move towards the senior sections of the school. We believe that this is important as the HoY knows each child individually and can plan accurately for both their academic and personal development progress. Also, parents really appreciate the fact that they get to work with a key individual within the school management structure.

The tutor group is therefore important. The form tutor also follows the child through. They work very closely with their form and there are planned activities each day during period 5 including discussions about news, PHSEE (personal, health, social, economic education lessons), reading opportunities and monitoring progress.

 

Below is a list of all the form groups for 2017-18:

 

Larch Centre (Primary Phase)

Primary Phase Leader – Ruth Oakenfull oakenfullr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Hedgehogs Class YR – Jess Emery  emeryj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Squirrels Class YR – Mary Williams  williamsm@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Badgers Class Y1 – Emma Summerfield  summerfielde@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Rabbits Class Y1 – Sophie Pearce  pearces@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Deers Class Y2 – Marie-Claire Riddle  riddlem@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Foxes Class Y2 – Rachel Southall/Jenny Ciraolo  southallr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 ciraoloj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Secondary Phase

Year 7 (Year Leader – Emily Robinson) robinsone@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7A – Rebecca Watkins  watkinsr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7B – Colin Keast  keastc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7L- David Brinicombe  brinicombed@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7M – Jack Andrews andrewsj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7N – Katherine Whitby  whitbyk@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

7R – David Kelleway  kellewayd@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Year 8 (Year Leader – Graham Davies) daviesg@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8A – Will Poley  poleyw@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8B – Helen Rhodes  rhodesr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8L – Rebecca Fish  fishr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8M – Charlotte Stuart  stuartc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8N – Emma Davey  daveye@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

8R – Daisy Coulbeck  coulbeckj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Year 9 (Year Leader – Jo Green) greenj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9A –  Claire Young  youngc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9B – Linda Jones/Elise Nwahba   jonesl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk    

                                                      nwahbae@simonballe.herts.sch.uk 

9L – Ryan Norcross  norcrossr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9M – Janice Mayo/Elise Nwahba  mayoj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk  

                                                      nwahbae@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9N – Daire Brennan  brennand@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

9R – Lauren Davison davisonl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk                                                            

 

Year 10 (Year Leader – Hannah Ahmet) ahmeth@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10A – Stephanie Corbett  corbetts@simonballe.herts.sch.uk  

10B – Tom Joyce  joycet@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10L – Nancy Iles  ilesn@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10M – Beth Freeth  freethb@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10N – Amy Wooton wootona@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

10R – Steve McGovern/Jenny McGovern mcgoverns@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

                                                                  mcgovernj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Year 11 (Year Leader – Lucy Owen) owenl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11A – Chris Trueman truemanc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11B – Andrew Hay  haya@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11L – Rob Woodcock/Laura Cooke  woodcockr@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

cookel@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11M – Steve Preshous/Sarah Pope  preshouss@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

                                                         pope@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11N – David Ayres/Carolyn Kelleway  ayresd@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

kellewayc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

11R- Sophie Wren  wrens@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

(Sixth Form)

Head of Sixth Form – Ed Coy  coye@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Sixth Form – Suzy Matuszak  matuszaks@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

                                                             sixthform@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Ashbourne a – Louise Lucas/Amanda McCarthy  lucasl@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

mccarthya@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Ashbourne b – Bita Motte  motteb@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Beane a – Gareth Jones/Jackie Moss  jonesg@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

mossj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Beane b – Carolyn Selby/Andrea Robins  selbyc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

robinsa@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Lea a –  Katherine Elliott/Vicky Davis  elliottk@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

davisv@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Lea b – Charlotte Ayres/Ed Church  ayresc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

churche@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Mimram a – Jenny Townsend/Matt Allred  townsendj@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

allredm@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Mimram b – Emma Kelleway  kellewaye@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

New a – Charlie Webber  webberc@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

New b – Fiona Johnston/Anna Palmer  johnstonf@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

palmera@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

 

Rib a – Sophie Wigmore  wigmores@simonballe.herts.sch.uk

Rib b – Mark Taylor  taylorm@simonballe.herts.sch.uk