Governing Body

Welcome to the Governors’ page – message from The Chair

 Simon Balle became an Academy in November 2013 and we value the fact that we now have greater control over decision-making. We then expanded to Simon Balle All -through School (SBAS) in September 2015 and we now have 2 classes in  Reception, Year One and Year Two. We are working on developing deep partnerships with other schools and the wider community, which will enrich all students and lead to greater opportunities and achievement.

The Governing Body ensures that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clear and that everyone understands what this means. It provides a well-informed and sustained challenge to the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to ensure the highest standards are met and that the school improvement plan (SIP) is delivered.  Governors have the responsibility for formulating, monitoring and reviewing the policies, plans and procedures for the school. The Headteacher is responsible for the implementation of policy, day-to-day management and organisation of the school and operation of the curriculum. Governors also have a very important role in providing oversight of the financial performance of the school and making sure that its money is well spent and the best value for money is achieved.

The Governors’ roles are mainly implemented through a committee structure but our Governors are also linked with departments or functions within the school. Through regular, planned school visits we ensure that we are able to question activities and play an active role in school life.  Governors attend regular training sessions and we also organise the annual conference. This year the conference challenged the Governors knowledge of the school in a very interactive way via a series of questions on the school that Governors were expected to be able to answer!

Here is a list of specific governor roles – more detailed information can also be seen below:

FGB Chair: Paul Connolly (also chair of H&S Cttee and PREVENT link governor)

Finance Cttee Chair:  Ann Orpin (also Vice Chair FGB)

Student Cttee Chair: Alison Mackie

Personnel Cttee Chair:  Roy Hardcastle

A&S Cttee Chair: Andrew Porrer


Attendance & Behaviour Link Governor: Tara Bullworthy

Careers Link Governor: John Wiggett

Music Link  Governor: Emma Davies

PE and Sports Premium Link Governor: John Wiggett

Pitch Committee Link Governor: Jo Brown

PP, CLA and SEND Link Governor: Rachel Kirk (please note: currently a District Schools Effectiveness Adviser (DSEA) for Herts for Learning)

Primary Focus Governor: Emma Davies

PSA Link Governor: Alison Mackie

Safeguarding Link Governor: Jayne Abery


Our Governors have a broad range of expertise and experience.  Please see the table below for governor information – click on the image to see a larger version.  If you would prefer to see a pdf copy of the document you can view it here















Paul Connolly

Chair of Governors

Simon Balle All-through School







Please click on this link to see profiles of our Governors


Committee details – meetings and committee members 2017-18

Attainment and Standards
Tuesday 12th September 2017, Tuesday 7th November 2017, Tuesday 23rd January 2018, Tuesday 6th March 2018, Tuesday 8th May 2018 and Friday 12th June 2018.
Finance, Assets and Resources
Wednesday 20th September 2017, Wednesday 15th November 2017, Wednesday 10th January 2018, Wednesday 28th February 2018 and Wednesday 6th June 2018.
Monday 30th October 2017, Monday 11th December 2017, Monday 29th January 2018, Monday 26th March 2018 and Monday 21st May 2018
Student, Community and Partnership
Thursday 28th September 2017, Thursday 30th November 2017, Thursday 1st February 2018, Thursday 15th March 2018, Thursday 24th May 2018 and Thursday 5th July 2018.
Health, Safety and Environment meetings

Tuesday 12th September 2017, Tuesday 7th November 2017, Tuesday 12th December 2017, Tuesday 20th February 2018, Tuesday 15th May 2018.

Inspection: Tuesday 3rd July 2018

Full Governing Body

Monday 2nd October 2017, Monday 4th December 2017, Monday 5th February 2018, Monday 30th April 2018 and Monday 25th June 2018.